The Dream of Scipione


Arranged by Merle J. Isaac

Grade 2

Full Orchestra Conductor Score & Parts

(Grade 2)



During the year 1772, when Mozzart was sixteen years of age, he composed seven symphonies, six string quartets, three sonstas, and a dozen or so other works. Among the later was a one-act opera, The Dream of Scipone (Ship-yó-nay), written for the inaguration of the new Archbishop of Salzburg. In the opera, the young Scipone is visited in a dream by the Goddess of Fortune and the Goddess of Constancy. They call upon him to choose one of them to be his guide through life. His departed ancesters appear and offer their counsel. With their guidance, Scipone chooses Constancy.

Published by: Wynn Music Publishers

Additional information

Weight 2 lbs
Dimensions 12 × 9 × 1.75 in

Preview Score

Score Preview