Andante for Strings

Arranged by Ian Edlund

Grade 4

String Orchestra Conductor Score & Parts



This piece is an arrangement of the slow movement of Raff’s Octet in C, opus 176. The original instrumentation was for four violins, two violas and two celli.

A fine example of Raff’s melodic gift, this piece should be interpreted with the freedom allowed during the era of its origin. Phrases can be stretched and delineated by use of rubato and dynamics. The music is very expressive and should be interpreted creatively. The rather intricate harmonic structure sounds so natural as to belie the technical challenges to the players. Melodic and contrapuntal lines often come from inner parts, and care must be given to balance. Fingerings suggested in the parts are provided to encourage expressive playing.

This virtually unknown work will be a welcome addition to concert and festival repertoire for string orchestras. Enjoy

Published by: String Instrument Specialists

Additional information

Weight 1.75 lbs
Dimensions 12 × 9 × 1.5 in

Preview Score

Score Preview